December?

Hey Family!

Where the heck has the time gone? I can’t believe it was in August I entered the MTC and it’s already December! The mission really does go by in a blink of an eye. The more missionaries I talk to though I hear that time just starts going by faster! I really love the mission and all the things I’m learning and the different opportunities I get out here in the field.

Right now, Elder Jardine and I are preparing for our investigator, Reina, to be baptized this Saturday! We are super excited and she is even more so! The Dad, who is catholic, actually sat in on a lesson the other day! Really exciting. I can’t wait to see if we can start teaching him and really complete the family! I would love to see a family enter the temple one day. It really is one of the biggest hopes of a missionary!

This week I was in Portland on an exchange. Great Place! I got the opportunity to work with Elder Anderson and I learned a ton from him! He is a great Elder and has a great attitude. I really think this exchange was effective because he has been in Corpus his whole mission and I have been in Laredo, so we kind of got to trade ideas and stuff and we ended up with about half of their weekly goals in just two days!

So….originally we thought we would be having two baptisms on the 12th, but how it ended up is that we actually haven’t met with Juanette B yet, the second investigator. Her situation is very unique. She Really can’t meet with us that often because her husband doesn’t even know that she wants to get baptized and the whole situation is just kind of different. I hope to straighten everything out this week and let her husband know. She has been to church over 18 times. Try to keep Juanette in your prayers!

Stake conference was also this weekend! Saturday night at the adult session we kind of got a surprise! President and Sister Maluenda were there! They spoke on missionary work and it was really fantastic. Another talk I liked was by the stake president here. He spoke a little on social media and how it can be used for good and bad. He commented on how as LDS members we shouldn’t be liking or sharing anything that doesn’t measure up to our standards. I really enjoyed the talk.

That’s all I have time for! I love you all a ton and I hope to hear from you all next week!

Con Amor,

Elder Russell

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

