The Fish Fry, And a Baptism!

Hey family!

Really good week here in Rockport! Hope you guys all had fantastic weeks as well!

First thing really great that happened this week was we had a fish fry! So…I had never heard of a “Fish Fry” before I got here to Rockport. These are massive events where all your friends and family come over and you fry a ton of fish. I guess it says it all in the name but they are super fun! We had ours at the church and we had about 115 people there! For a little small branch this was a tremendous turnout! The whole building was packed! Elder Jardine and I got the opportunity to cook a lot of the fish and fries! There were so many types of fish and different food there! It was just a really great activity to get people to church!

Kind of a weird experience this week. One of our investigators, G*, ended up not wanting to take lessons anymore. He said he had prayed and he got the response from God that it wasn’t right for him basically. Those experiences really hurt you. Especially when you really get to know the person. You just have to hope that the seed you planted will one day help them!

Saturday we had a baptism! What a great day! We got the great opportunity to baptize Reina Arriaga. She was so happy! Elder Jardine baptized her Saturday and I got the chance to confirm her on Sunday. I was honestly so scared! I had never done a confirmation before so I had no idea what I was going to do. I studied the words before and everything turned out OK. It was crazy because during the blessing my thoughts seemed so clear. The power of the Holy Ghost really does make all of the difference!

The next goal for the Arriaga family is baptize the Dad. I think it would be so cool to complete a family like that! That’s definitely one of my goals is to be able to go to the temple with a family like that to be sealed. I think that experience would be so cool.

I love my mission so much! I know it is really changing my life. I just want to testify to all of you that I know our Savior and Redeemer, Jesus Christ, lives. He loves us and takes care of us. I know that we have a loving Heavenly Father as well. My testimony of these simple things in the Gospel have never been stronger. The mission really does change your life and I couldn’t ask for a better way to spend two years of my life!

That’s all for this week! I love you all so much!

Elder Russell

Leave a Reply

