The aquarium and interviews!

Hey Family!

Super great week here in Rockport! We found a lot of potentials and made a lot of progress with our current investigators. After E-mailing last week, we went off to the Corpus Christi Aquarium. It was so cool! We all had a really great time. We got to pet some sting rays, see a bird show among other things. Some members down here had some season passes so we all got to go for free! They saved us about thirty dollars!

This week Elder Thompson and I went on an exchange. Elder Thompson is a Zone Leader down here in Corpus. He is a great guy and an even better missionary. He taught me a lot of things. We found three new investigators just when he was up in Rockport for only one day. This exchange really taught me a lot about how to work an area the best you can. For example, by 3:00 in the afternoon, all of our plans had fallen through and we just searched for former investigators and went by less actives homes. By doing our part, the Lord blessed us with people that were really prepared to hear the Gospel that day.

Another great experience I had this week was going on exchanges with the Elders Quorum. I don’t know if I have mentioned it yet but the average age of our branch is like 70 years old. The only thing that brings that average down a little is the 9 year old we just baptized! Besides the point, we went on exchanges and I was with Bro. Cromie. This guy is a stud! He is 87 years old and he was out working with me (and keeping up) for about two hours. I was so impressed. It really taught me it doesn’t really matter how old you are, what situation you are in, you are most likely able to do missionary work! We had a great time and were able to bless some lives.

On Friday we had interviews. It was great! For interviews our President has a lot of trainings that the AP’s give us while he is doing the interviews. I really was excited for this chance because our President is such an inspired man. He is so in tune with the Spirit and is truly in my opinion a “spiritual giant”. I had my interview and everything went really well. He gave me a couple of chapters in the Book of Mormon that he thought could help me personally the best.

Saturday and Sunday this week were really extra cool. We went out and worked almost all day with Jack Taylor. We went to all of our areas and invited everybody to church. We also found a couple of new investigators in the process. Another cool thing was when we were at Opals house, our recent convert, her son was over. He has always commited to go to church and get baptized and all that good stuff but HE NEVER FOLLOWS UP. So, we made a deal with him if I beat him in pool, he has to go to church for sure. He agreed and decided to play me. I won. He came to church the next day! You should have seen the faces on these old people when this big old country kid with massive tattoos all over him came to church with his cowboy boots on. I think he really felt the Spirit and I’m excited to see if we can make progress with him. Also another cool note, we usually have about 50 people in attendance at church, this week, in total had 75! We got a ton of less actives to come. We were really excited.

As I’m approaching my sixth month mark, I can’t really believe all this time has passed already. I’m told it just goes faster from here. I have learned so much on my mission. I know I’m becoming such a better person and I love going out every day knowing I am a personal servant of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. What an opportunity huh? I love all of you so much and hope you all have a great week!

Love you all!

Elder Russell

Leave a Reply

