The Laredo Heat

Hey Family!

Super good week here in Laredo, Texas. We are whitewashing (new set of elder’s in a new area) so we literally don’t really have any investigators that are progressing or anything so we spent the majority of our efforts this week on finding. We were able to find 14 people this week we are going to start teaching. It took a lot of work and sweat but I think we have some really good potential to get some people to church and really get this area going.

So, as you all know, Elder Holland came to the mission last week. It was an amazing experience. The mission recorded his talk and I want to share a little exerpt of that talk with you all. (By the way this wasn’t with notes, it was all by the spirit. Super cool.)
“I’m really quite easy to get along with and I’m especially partial to missionaries but there is one thing I cannot live with. I’m warning you now. Im warning you now. There is one thing I can’t live with. And that is a missionary I find who has forgotten, or dismissed, or walked away or was failing devotion, and belief, or commitment. But I can’t live somehow, emotionally, with a return missionary who doesn’t keep the faith, I would rather find somebody who never knew it. I would rather find somebody who never had it. As sad as I am about anybody who wouldn’t go on a mission, I would rather find somebody who didn’t serve a mission and was struggling or disbelieving, or unfaithful, but for a missionary to come and do what you do, and to say what you say, and feel what you feel about them, and it’s all true. The gospel is true, and they’re true, and you’re true, and the lessons are true, and the scriptures are true, for you to come and have that, and say that, and do that, and believe it, and then to walk away, I can’t live with that. So look I’m warning you now, if you’re gonna go home and crash and burn, don’t meet me. If you’re walking down the street somebody better cross over. Because I go ballistic at that. I’ve gone ballistic in a missionary meeting where I thought the missionaries weren’t getting anything out of the meeting.

We don’t make any u turns in this church this isn’t something that you do for a couple years and somehow you just check it of your list and then you’re gonna go back to real life.. listen right now, listen, this is real life. This is closer to real life that you are ever going to come. Capital R capital L. This is the way the truth and the life. We are not the church that believes that you go out and have this moment this divine confrontation with the spirit of the Lord and power from heaven and then walk away from it. We do not move from the celestial kingdom to the telestial, this is the church that believes in eternal progression. And were on this angle and this route and this progression and you do different things you are gonna go home and you’re gonna get married and you’re going to have children and you’re going to have great experiences, yes. But those will seem to be progressive steps in your exaltation and you cannot walk away and turn aside and forget and disregard and demean what got you there, what gave you the opportunity to even talk progression to even talk about the celestial kingdom a celestial experience. ”

Cool right? He definitely is one of the best speakers I have ever heard. He talked a lot about the shepherds never becoming lost. He says we are the future leaders of the church and the church doesn’t have room for RM’s to one day get lost and have to be rescued. We have to be the ones rescuing. Anyway’s I thought it was pretty cool.

I had a little tender mercy this week. In our area, It’s all Spanish. I have been feeling a little big self conscious about my Spanish lately. We were at a members house and after I had finished saying my prayer, she said, where are you from? I said Utah. She was like, really? You sound like you were a native Spanish speaker. Do you parents speak it? I was like no. So anyways that was cool. I don’t really think it’s getting that good at all but It’s really nice getting encouragement from members. I’ve gotten that at about 3 houses now so it gives me that encouragement to keep working hard on it.

Not too much to report other than that. Hopefully we will have some really good progressing investigators by next week!

I love you all so much! I hope you all have fantastic weeks and remember to Choose the Right! Love you all!

Elder Russell

Leave a Reply

