Interviews and Finding Families

Hey Family!

I hope your weeks were excellent! My week in Weslaco was great. We had a great time in the area and definitely met some cool people this week.

First of all, I need to talk about something very important! On Monday, we went over to the Familia Gallardo’s house. Wow! I had the best burger I have ever tasted in my whole entire life at their house! Amazing! This is what it consisted of: Meat, cheese, mayo, lettuce, two hot dogs, sirachi hot sauce, and tomato They were huge! I ate two of them. I know, I shouldn’t have but I literally couldn’t help myself. So good!

OK…on a more serious note we found some awesome people this week. But, the coolest of them all is the family we just found last night. It was so cool family! We were with Hermano Sanchez doing elders quorum less active visits. We went up to the town of Mercedes and started working. We went to the Familia Lopez’s house. We started walking up and like two kids were outside and they quickly ran in. There was a couple of beer bottles (not from the kids I don’t think) and I thought “oh great, these guys aren’t coming to church.) But, we knocked and they answered and it is such a cool family! Every weekend, their family stays at their house. In total, the family sums up to 18 people. Yes 18. I’m not kidding. It was the biggest lesson I have ever taught on my mission. It was so dang cool. Only the Grandma is a member so about 11 or 12 of them are of baptism age. We taught about prayer and it actually was pretty spiritual even with that many people. We’re going over to teach them this Friday again!

This week we had interviews with President. For the past year, I have had a question on my mind about the mission. President sat me down in our interview and literally i’m not kidding the first thing he said answered my question. President Torres is so in tune with the Spirit it’s pretty awesome. Interviews with him are always so faith promoting. We get to see him a lot now though. He does about two meetings with each zone each transfer. We have a zone conference with him tomorrow so I’m super excited about that!

I love you all so much! The mission field is the best and I am thoroughly enjoying my time serving Jesus Christ. I don’t know where I would be without this Gospel.

I love you all!

Elder Russell

Leave a Reply

