Feliz Halloween!

Querido Familia Russell,

Halloween? What? That was crazy fast. I remember where I was last Halloween. I was in Laredo South. We were having a party for Elder Breck before he went home. He really loved Christmas in the mission so we had a Christmas party on Halloween. Pretty crazy how time flies. All those guys I knew my first transfer are just about all home. Time literally flies when you are on a mission people. It’s not a rumor. It’s not a joke. It goes so fast!

So many dang cool experiences this week! Elder Wilson and I were biking and we pull off on this random street becuase we felt impressed to. We went down the street and knocked a door. New investigators… such a cool family. Referred us to a guy down the street. We knocked on his door and we for some reason were there for like 10 minutes just talking. So weird. Usually we stay like 2 minutes per door. But, the guy opened the door! He looked pretty sleepy. I made a joke about us stopping by to sit on his couches outside and he thought I was serous so he said “Sit Down, Sit Down!” We taught him a story about Christ looking for disciples, about looking for people to follow him. We invited him to follow Christ. He told us just one hour before he had been at his church praying for guidance. He took it as a sign from God that we showed up. Super cool guy. He’s committed to church this coming week!

President came to the zone this week for zone conference. He had some great training’s. He taught about the Restoration. He dived super deep into the apostasy of the Catholic church and why they don’t have authority anymore. It was really cool. He’s starting to do all his training and talks in English. It’s super impressive he picked up English in like three months. He is an amazingly smart man!

Well, Mom, you got your wish. I spoke again in sacrament meeting! I loved it. This was my first talk in Spanish where I felt completely comfortable expressing what I wanted to say. It was pretty cool. The gift of tongues is real!

We got a person to church this week but our area has been having a few struggles. I have been thinking about a scripture in Ether this week. Ether 12:6. It reads “And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.”

I love all of you guys! Have a fantastic week and keep the Faith! Miracles always come after the trials!

Love,

Elder Russell

 

Leave a Reply

