New Years Round 2

Hey Family!

Pretty good week here in Weslaco. New Year’s Eve here was way fun. We ate dinner at the Cavasos home, a family of investigators that we have. It was super awesome. We had a really good time and a nice spiritual thought at the end. New years down here though is a little different than Utah though. When Mexicans celebrate the new year, I don’t know why they don’t shoot fireworks like us but they go outside and just start shooting guns into the air. It’s nuts. I was watching out my apartment window and it sounded crazy. A cop actually died down here because a bullet fell from the sky and hit him in the head.

This week has been a little tough for a couple of reasons. I got the flu down here. I have been coughing non stop and had a really runny nose and just felt gross. And, since it is the end part of the month, we don’t have miles left. So, we were on bikes. I didn’t feel so good. Anyways, I don’t think I had the best attitude this whole week. I’m still pretty sick.

So, the baptismal date for Ramone and Feliciana is this coming weekend! Elder Wilson and I still have a lot of faith it will happen. The only thing that is kind of odd is we haven’t had communication for a couple of days which is not a really good thing. We are going to try our hardest to make it happen this weekend but If they aren’t ready, we will have to prepare them a little while longer.

That’s about it on all the main people that we have so far that are solid. We are just basically in a rebuilding stage for the area trying to find solid people to teach. We have to work super hard this coming week to find people that have been prepared by the Lord to be taught the gospel.

I love you all so much and hope that your new years resolutions are still going on strong. I love you all! Have a great week.

Love,

Elder Russell

Leave a Reply

