MLC and Exchanges!

Dear Family,

Well, this week to say the least has been interesting! It started off pretty normal, but all of a sudden, we got an announcement from President that the mission leadership will be coming down for the Mission Leadership Conference, nothing weird, just like normal, but then he announced to pack a change of clothes and bedding! So I headed down to Mcallen on Wednesday with the other district leader here in Weslaco and we did the whole conference. It was so good! I learn so much from President Torres every time I get to hear from him! He is awesome and definitely one of my role models in life! The coolest part of the day is when we ate dinner, we split up into companionships and got sent to areas near the chapel. I got paired with the one and only Elder Rathmell! If you guys don’t remember that was my MTC comp! I was beyond excited. We have both grown so much. We had a great time catching up, and working like crazy! We found 13 potential families and people for the other elders. It was nuts. We were joking if we stayed in the area we would baptize by the end of next week!

After MLC was all said and done, Elder Torres, one of our zone leaders, wanted to do an exchange with me! So, I stayed an extra day and a half in McAllen! We found so many cool people in his area too! Including, just before stake conference on Saturday, a family of five that is a part member family! Miracles were everywhere. It was super fun. It felt good for a whole half of a week to not be selfish and work for our personal area but for others. It was hard letting them go at the end of the week though!

I finally got back to the area Sunday, and we went to the second session of Stake Conference and after we had to weekly plan for the area. We only had three hours left in the day, and Elder Jobs hadn’t found anybody while I was gone, so we decided it would be best if we went and knocked some doors! We did and went to a trailer park that we found! It was golden. We found 3 potentials and about 4 new investigators! Things are looking up!

I love you all so much! I hope you all have a great week and sincerely search for the hand of the Lord in your lives!

Elder Russell

P.S. If you guys would ever want a book recommendation, I would suggest, “The Infinite Atonement – Tad R. Callister or Believing in Christ. by author I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

