Transfer 16, Home Stretch

Hey Family!

Well, this is it. Home stretch. Last six weeks of my mission! It feels so weird to be at this point. I feel like it was yesterday I was just getting to my first area in Larga Vista, Laredo with my trainer Elder Hickman. It has been a roller coaster. It’s not quite done yet! I won’t be ending my mission as a Zone Leader. The AP’s called last night and they notified me that I will be training a newly called District Leader how to be the best he can be at his position. I am pumped! I will be spending my last six weeks in Rio Grande. It’s a city right between Laredo and McAllen. My goal is to work harder, smarter, and have the most fun I have ever had these last weeks and at the end, have no regrets on how I served.
Our week this week was really good. We set three baptismal dates with some awesome people. The area is seemingly blowing up right as I leave. Such is life, right? This week we met someone super cool. Her name is Selena. She was so excited to start taking the lessons! She thought it was the coolest thing ever when we told her in the lesson that we could bless her house. She committed to church, wanted to learn more about baptism, the whole nine yards. Turns out, she called her whole family after we left, to tell them how cool the Mormon missionaries are and that they need to talk to them! You think that would be a great thing, right? Nope. Turns out her whole family tried to tell her lies about the church and to turn her against us. Super weird. But, we visited her last night because she didn’t make it to church to ask her what happend, she told us she thought about it and still wants to study with us.
I will be so sad to get moved out of Robstown. I only spent a total of three months here. That is about half of the time I usually spend in areas so it will be tough saying goodbye to everyone that I have met. The people here are so great. I wish I could have had more time with them all. There are so many good things that are going to happen here!
The zone leader area is getting moved down to a city called Alice, So we spent all morning moving all of the stuff out of the house into an apartment they rented down there. But, after email, we should be going and doing our last P-day activity at the beach in Corpus playing beach soccer and writing in journals and of course, a tie trade.
Con Mucho Amor,
Elder Russell
Leave a Reply

